First Step Useful Resources

    (expand submenu)

    First Step disorder-specific self-help booklets

    Panic attacks

    Post natal depression

    Sleeping problems

    Depression (Brief Information)

    Depression and low mood

    Post Traumatic Stress

    Shyness and Social Anxiety

    Problem Anger

    Bereavement

    Health anxiety

    Obsessions and compulsions

    Therapy resources

    First Step practitioners use a set of standard, nationally-agreed questionnaires at every session. This is to help add further information to our understanding of the problem but also to help monitor progress. Research evidence suggests that monitoring symptoms in this way increases the chance of therapy being effective and helps both the practitioner and patient to keep on track. The main questionnaires can be downloaded below.

    First Step Questionnaires

    Sometimes you and your practitioner will decide to use a worksheet to help you record aspects of your work or to help support the work in between sessions. This helps you to remember what you have discussed and what you are working on. You can download additional copies of these in Word format below.

    Five Areas Model for Understanding Your Experiences

    Setting Goals Worksheet

    Graded Exposure Hierarchy

    Mood and Activity Diary

    Problem Solving Worksheet

    Basic Activity Diary

    Behavioural Activation Diary

    Sleep Management (summary and diary)

    Sleep Diary

    Behavioural Experiments Record Sheet

    Thought Diary (simple)

    Thought Diary (Changing ways of thinking)

    Staying Well Plan

    Audio resources

    There are also a number of audio files that you may find useful.

    Online self-help courses

    Cognitive behaviour therapy (CBT) is an evidence-based and structured form of talking therapy that aims to alter the unhelpful thinking (cognitions) and behaviour that commonly occur during times of distress. Some people prefer to work with a practitioner, others would prefer to do the work online. For further details on the range of online therapy provided and supported by our trained staff, please see this dedicated page.

    Our launch page provides details of all the different ways you can access First Step.

    Useful websites

    Drug and alcohol

    Frank www.talktofrank.com
    Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) www.alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk
    Narcotics Anonymous (NA) www.ukna.org
    CADAS www.cadas.co.uk
    UNITY www.gmw.nhs.uk/unity
    Gateway www.cumbriagateway.co.uk
    Addaction www.addaction.org.uk
    Addiction Dependency Solutions (ADS) www.adsolutions.org.uk

    Health

    British Heart Foundation www.bhf.org.uk
    Diabetes UK www.diabetes.org.uk
    Hospice at Home www.hospiceathome.co.uk
    Diabetes Desmond Project www.desmond-project.org.uk
    British Lung Foundation www.blf.org.uk

    Still birth/ Miscarriage

    Miscarriage Association www.miscarriageassociation.org.uk
    Tommys www.tommys.org
    Stillborn and Neonatal Death Charity www.uk-sands.org
    Bluebell Foundation Barrow www.bluebell.org.uk

    Abortion

    Marie Stopes Abortion www.mariestopes.org.uk

    Debt/benefits

    Step Change Debt www.stepchange.org
    Citizens Advice Bureau www.citizensadvice.org.uk
    DACE (Disability Association of Carlisle and Eden) www.carlisledisability.org.uk

    Older Adults

    Age UK www.ageuk.org.uk
    U3A (University of the Third Age) www.u3a.org.uk

    Bereavement

    CRUSE www.cruse.org.uk
    SOBS (Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide) www.sobs-cumbria.org.uk
    Cumbria SOBS (Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide) www.sobs-cumbria.org.uk

    Rape/Domestic Violence

    Rape Crisis www.westcumbriarapecrisis.co.uk
    Let Go www.impacthousing.org.uk/let-go-domestic-violence-service
    Freedom Project www.freedomprogramme.co.uk

    Gambling

    Gam Care www.gamcare.org.uk

    Children, relationships and families

    Barnardos www.barnardos.org.uk
    Sure Start www.gov.uk/find-sure-start-childrens-centre
    Carlisle Carers www.carlislecarers.com
    East Cumbria Family Support www.eastcumbriafamilysupport.org.uk
    Borderline www.borderlinecounselling.co.uk
    Marriage Care www.marriagecare.org.uk
    Relate www.relate.org.uk

    Rainbow Trust - https://rainbowtrust.org.uk  

    Housing

    Impact Housing www.carlisledisability.org.uk
    Shelter www.shelter.org.uk

    Mental health

    OCD-UK is the leading national charity, independently working with and for almost one million children and adults whose lives are affected by Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD). Their website contains a whole range of useful information for people experiencing OCD. Although they do not current run a support group in Cumbria, they are keen to do this in future if they can identify and train an appropriate volunteer.
    Anxiety BC www.anxietybc.com
    OCD Action www.ocdaction.org.uk
    Mind www.mind.org.uk
    The NHS website www.nhs.uk
    Anxiety UK www.anxietyuk.org.uk
    Croftlands Trust www.croftlands.org
    Bipolar UK www.bipolaruk.org.uk
    Samaritans www.samaritans.org 
    Maternal OCD www.maternalocd.org/whatweoffer/services.php

    PAC THERAPY https://pactherapy.org/ 

    Exercise and fitness

    Ramblers www.ramblers.org.uk
    Exercise on Prescription www.nhs.uk/Conditions/stress-anxiety-depression/Pages/Exercise-for-depression.aspx
    Senhouse Centre www.whitehavencommunitytrust.co.uk/Website/Senhouse/index.php
    Purple Lotus Carlisle www.purplelotus.co.uk

    Legal

    Probation www.cumbriaprobation.org.uk
    Cumbria Law Centre www.cumbrialawcentre.org.uk

    Head injury

    Headway https://www.headway.org.uk

    Blindness/deafness

    Cumbria DeafVision www.deafvision.co.uk
    Blind Society www.royalblindsociety.org
    RNIB (Royal National Institute for the Blind) www.rnib.org.uk
    Action for deafness www.actionfordeafness.org.uk

    Work and volunteering

    CVS (Cumbria Volunteering Society) www.cumbriacvs.org.uk
    Job Centre www.jobcentreonline.com
    Inspira www.inspira.org.uk

    Equality

    Dumfries and Galloway LGBT Centre www.lgbtcentredg.co.uk/
    Cumbria Pride http://www.cumbriapride.org/
    PINC http://www.prideinnorthcumbria.org/
    GOBS http://www.gobs.org.uk/
    OutReach Cumbria http://outreachcumbria.com/
    Cumbria Sexual Health Service http://www.cumbriapartnership.nhs.uk/sexual-health-services.htm
    Gay and Lesbian Foundation http://www.lgf.org.uk/
    QuPiD http://www.qupid.eu/
    Beaumont Society (Transgender) http://www.beaumontsociety.org.uk/
    Gender Trust http://gendertrust.org.uk/
    Transgender Zone http://www.transgenderzone.com/Gender Identity and Research Society http://www.gires.org.uk/
    The UK Intersex Association http://www.ukia.co.uk/
    Multicultural Service http://www.cumbria.gov.uk/multimedia/barrowmulticulturalcentre.asp
    Trans Unite https://www.transunite.co.uk/

    Others

    Cumbria Advice Network www.cumbriaadvicenetwork.org.uk
    Growing Well http://www.growingwell.co.uk/
    Birchall Trust www.birchalltrust.org.uk
    Eden Rural Foyer http://foyer.net/foyers/eden-rural-foyer/
    Princes Trust www.princes-trust.org.uk