News By Month

Staff Awards Celebrations 2015

Posted on the 9th April 2015

The 6th annual staff awards ceremony provided staff from across the Trust, which covers the whole of Lancashire, the opportunity to join together and cheer on their colleagues in one of the 10 award categories. These ranged from Compassionate Care Award, Partnership Working and Patient Quality awards. For the second year there was also the People’s Choice Award which allowed people to nominate members of staff who they felt demonstrate compassionate care and go above and beyond in their roles. The winner in this category was also voted for and by members of the public.

Heather Tierney-Moore, Chief Executive at Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust said:

“Every year the award ceremony has grown and it is fantastic to see everyone enjoying themselves and getting in to the spirit of the evening. We have a brilliant workforce who is dedicated to providing the very best in compassionate care for the people of Lancashire, and the awards offer a great opportunity for us to celebrate the work that takes place over the course of the last year and recognise those teams and individuals who go above and beyond in their roles. The standard of nominations received this year was outstanding and I hope everyone nominated feels proud of their achievements. ”

Derek Brown, Trust Chair added:

“The evening was a huge success and it was inspiring listening to the sponsors telling the stories of each of the shortlisted nominees. The atmosphere in the room was electric and I’m pleased that we can bring our staff together and honour the excellent work that occurs around Lancashire on a daily basis.”

Winners were awarded with a trophy and there was also recognition for colleagues who just missed out on a winning spot but who still deserved a special mention.

The evening was held at the DeVere Hotel, Blackpool and was sponsored by CDC Ltd, Ryhurst, Frank Whittle Partnership, OCS Ltd, VINCI UK and Fiona MacNeill Associates.

The list of winners and those awarded highly commended can be seen below:-
Clinical Team of The Year
Service User and Carer Involvement Award
·     Winners: Blackpool, Fylde and Wyre Crisis Resolution and Home Treatment Team
·     Highly Commended: Community Therapy (Central)
·      Winner: Communities Against Cancer
·       Highly Commended: Aquired Brain Injury (ABI) Induction Training Team
Non Clinical Team of The Year
Compassionate Care Award
·      Winner: Health and Leisure Team
·      Winner: Community Occupational Therapy
·      Highly Commended: Communications Team
·      Highly Carol Ann Bristow
Partnership Working Award
Chair's Award for Unsung Hero
·     Winner: Joanna Millar
·      Winner: Michelle Heise
·     Highly Commended: Rebecca Slater & David Spiby
·      Highly Commended: Kathryn Smith
Chief Executive's Award for Overall Achievement
Innovation Award
·      Winner: Sheila Kasaven
·     Winner: Contraception and Sexual Health Single Point of Access
·      Highly Commended: Jane Beenstock
·     Highly Commended: Janet Huddleston
People’s Choice Award
Patient Quality Award
·     Winner: Lynn Pinder
·      Winner: Tissue Viability Team - Lymphoedema Service
·     Highly Commended: Franc Ashcroft
·      Highly Commended: Diabetes Team